United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) | Intermediate

What is UNHRC?

The Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe and for addressing situations of human rights violations and make recommendations on them. It has the ability to discuss all thematic human rights issues and situations that require its attention throughout the year. It meets at the UN Office at Geneva. The Council is made up of 47 United Nations Member States which are elected by the UN General Assembly.

Exploring Institutional Racism

Institutional racism is a form of racism expressed in the practice of social and political institutions. It can lead to such issues as discrimination in criminal justice, employment, housing, health care, political power and education, among other issues. racism is often identifiable because of its explicit nature; institutional racism is less perceptible because of its less overt and far more subtle nature. Institutional racism originates in the operation of established and respected forces in the society and thus receives far less public condemnation than other forms of racism.

Country List

Canada, Commonwealth of Australia, Commonwealth of Poland, Czech Republic, Federal Republic of Germany, French Republic, Italian Republic, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of Spain, Libya, Malaysia, People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, People's Republic of China, Republic of Austria, Republic of Chile, Republic of Finland, Republic of South Africa, Republic of the Philippines, State of Japan, State of Kuwait, United Kingdom, United States of America.

Download the UNHRC Studyguide to learn more about the committee and its topic.

Click Below to Download the HRC Studyguide:

  • Follow Us!