The European Union (EU) | Intermediate

What is EU?

The European Union is based on the political and economic unification of 27 member states in the European region. The Union of these states has not only facilitated economic cooperation between its members but has also tackled other pertinent issues such as climate change, migration, and justice. Although the EU is not an official branch of the United Nations, the European Union works in close cooperation with the UN in such areas as humanitarian aid and peacekeeping.

Immigration in Europe

Earlier this year an influx of migrants flooded the enclave of Ceuta, Spain. Almost 8,000 migrants swarmed the border between Morocco to make their way to Ceuta, Spain and 4,000 of them have since then been deported back to Morocco. Being the largest influx of migrants in Spain’s recent history, this issue came at a point of diplomatic tension between Madrid and Rabat. The rise in migration rates has led to the realization of major inefficiencies in the EU’s migration system. Although tensions have eased since then, the EU is left with an inadequate approach to deal with migrant arrivals.

Country List

Spain , Germany, France, Sweden, Belgium, Denmark, Italy, Ireland, Greece, Poland, Czech Republic, Austria, Ireland, Romania, Estonia, Malta, Netherlands, Republic of Cyprus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Finland, Luxembourg

Download the EU study guide to learn more about the committee and its topic.

Click below to download the EU study guide:

  • Follow Us!